CLOUDS OVER MISSOURI: A TESTIMONIAL

 

This last weekend I had the privilege to attend “Clouds Over Missouri”, a Christian Conference held in Springfield, Missouri. At the conclusion of the conference, we all headed over to the Springfield City Square to put our faith in action by sharing the Gospel to the crowds who had gathered there for the Annual “Greater Ozark Pridefest” the largest homosexual rally in Southwest Missouri.

As we were leaving the square, our pastor asked us to share our testimony of the day the following morning at church. As I writer, I think and express my thoughts and feelings the best on paper. So as my testimonial, I wrote the following essay, titled “Clouds Over Missouri” after the name of the conference.


Clouds Over Missouri: A Testimonial

By Caleb Galloway

 

So that’s what I looked like once…

That was me.

Lost.

Dead.

Every Christian should see what we used to be, at least once in our lives, if only to thank God for how far He has brought us. Regardless of who we are, we all started out somewhere similar. Over the generations we’ve created the idea of “greater” and “lesser” sin… but that’s a lie…

Sin is sin in God’s eyes…

There’s a crowd of people marching around the square: chanting, cheering, reveling in their sin and their rebellion. Such sincerity. Such earnest devotion. The thought crosses my mind that if we the Church were as devoted to our fight, as the homosexuals are to theirs, we’d be unstoppable.

O God, I pray, open their eyes, start their hearts beating, breathe life into their lungs.

I gave man freewill… the Spirit replies… they must ask to come alive.

As I pray, the darkness around me grows stronger, pressing in, trying to smother me. I can feel it permeating the bricks beneath my feet, radiating off the buildings around me. This is a place where evil has a foothold… this is a place where decisions are made and lives are ruined.

These are the gates of hell.

The darkness retreats the longer I pray. The sound of the sermon being given on the street behind me fades into the distance as I look around to the people who surround me. There’s a girl across the square; she stands out due to her black Mohawk, pale skin, cut-off shorts and sleeveless, turtle-necked top. Despite her appearance she can’t be more then fourteen or fifteen. She glances my way as she passes; her eyes are dark, echoing the darkness that has ahold of her soul.

So young…

So lost…

I can’t help but think that she could have been so much more. But for whatever reason, she bought into this culture, and the lie that so permeates our nation. My heart goes out to her. My heart breaks for what she must have gone through to have that kind of darkness at such a young age.

As more darkness and lies are paraded in front of my eyes; my anger begins to burn cold. Where is the church through all this? Why are our numbers so few? Why must only a few stand in the gap when there could be THOUSANDS HERE?! Why has our culture been allowed to go this far, to get this bad? There are children here… children who are being taught the perverse lie of homosexuality… children who will accept this twisted viewpoint as their own… Children who will one day be an abomination before the Lord. It makes me sick.

This, I tell myself amidst the chaos around me and the cold anger within, this is unacceptable.

How have we fallen? I ask… How has our nation become this?

You already know… the spirit whispers in my ear…

I do.

It’s so easy to blame our President, Vice-President, Congressmen, Senators, Governors, Mayors, etcetera for the condition of our Nation. I’ve done it so many times I can’t count…

But, the reality of the matter is that while they do have a part to play, and will one day be held accountable for their part, the most blame does not lay with them…

It lies with the church…

Get personal.

It lies with me.

The world is full of blinded, stumbling people led astray by the desires of their own hearts and the devil’s deception. They cannot see clearly, they do not know grace, they do not know right from wrong.

What’s MY excuse?

Why haven’t I done anything?

How many years have I missed the truth that is made so evident in the words of Dietrich Bonhoeffer?

Silence in the face of evil is itself evil: God will not hold us guiltless. Not to speak is to speak. Not to act is to act.”[1]

By Inaction and by silence, I have supported the world.

No more.

“Therefore he says: Awake you who sleep, Arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”[2]

I am sick and I am tired of being lukewarm. I am sick of what passes as “Christianity” in this nation today. We were called to war against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, and against spiritual hosts of wickedness in heavenly places.”[3]

I’m sick of ignoring that war. I’m sick of pretending it doesn’t exist.

Today marks the end.

That’s why I’m here. Do I want to be here? No, but I’m glad that I am. I didn’t come to pick a fight with anyone, except the devil. I didn’t come to hate, I didn’t come to judge. I came to knock myself out of my comfort zone. I came to be a light. I came to spread the only Hope and Love that exists in this dark world.

I came for the children I will have one day. I came for other people’s children… To stand on the line and fight the darkness, so that I can leave the next generation a legacy I am not ashamed of. I came to fight so that on the day that I die, the following might be affixed to my gravestone:

“I, therefore having taken up the whole armor of God, was able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, stood.”[4]

 

May your pen stay keen forever.

~ OzarkScyfyWriter

 

Copyright © 2014 The Never Ending Path. All rights reserved.

 

 

 


SOURCES REFERENCED:

[1] http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Dietrich_Bonhoeffer

[2] Ephesians 5:14, NKJV

[3] Ephesians 6: 12 NKJV

[4] Ephesians 6:13, NKJV 

 

One thought on “CLOUDS OVER MISSOURI: A TESTIMONIAL

  1. Pingback: Highlights of the Year: 2014 | The Never Ending Path

Leave a Reply: (Required fields are marked, your email address will not be published. I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive, or off-topic.)

