PROCRASTINATION: THE FATAL DISEASE

 

Well if there is one quality (be it good or bad) that I can say I EXCEL at it would be procrastination. For instance, I started this blog with the intention to post at least once a week, and now it’s the middle of June and I haven’t posted anything since February.

I’ve started several posts but always ended up putting them off because either A) I didn’t have the time at the moment to finish them, Or B) the post took a direction I didn’t like.

Far too often lately that’s been the theme of my life. I start something with EVERY INTENTION OF FINISHING it, but somehow I never do. Take a look in my “Writing Projects” file on my computer and you will find a folder (which I have named “the morgue”) jam-packed full of half-finished novels, short stories, or story outlines/ideas. Why? Well it’s pretty simple— I suffer for a fatal disease known as “IAADP”

I.

Am.

A .

Dreadful.

Procrastinator.

For anyone that’s a dangerous habit. For a writer, it’s downright fatal. I hope to one day earn my living off my written creations. That’s generally considered impossible under the best of terms (“writer’s starve” and all that) but when you can’t even finish ONE novel because of procrastination, you know you’re in trouble.

So what can you do? How can you cure IAADP?

Procrastination tells you to take the simple road out (i.e., not doing anything at all) but you need to stop listening to that voice and push forward. That’s the only cure: Get up and make yourself do whatever it is you are procrastinating.

A good exhortation to keep in mind from scripture is Philippians 4:13 NKJV,

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

A good warning from scripture about procrastination is Proverbs 13:4 NKJV,

“The soul of a lazy [man] desires, and [has] nothing; But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich.”

I’d intended to make this a long and profound post, but another one of my fallings (which I might touch on sometime else) is that I am a dreadful perfectionist, which prevents me from posting anything that is not just right. And so on my Mother’s wise advice, I shall end this post here and now, before I kill it by thinking about it too much.

 

May your pen stay keen forever.

~ OzarkScyfyWriter

 

Copyright © 2014 The Never Ending Path. All rights reserved.

 

 

3 thoughts on “PROCRASTINATION: THE FATAL DISEASE

  1. Pingback: Highlights of the Year: 2014 | The Never Ending Path

  2. I also have battled with said “procrastination beast” and have found it is best viewed as an opportunity.So the novel is slow then go to a short story or lighthearted quotes of wisdom…
    Real art is seldom a plan but
    rather a flow of thought that we are blessed to experience and share.
    Now when it comes to not folding laundry ok thats procrastination. Lol 🙂
    .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply: (Required fields are marked, your email address will not be published. I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive, or off-topic.)

